June Meal Plan #2: Salad-Tastic Summer

cobb salad

recipe and photo source

This week’s CSA box includes carrots, sugar snap peas, strawberries, radishes, scallions, and lettuce. The first three items will undoubtedly be devoured as snacks the moment I can wash them up. I look forward to combining the other goodies with herbs from my planter box garden… should be a tasty and fairly low-prep week for meals!

It’s a good thing, too, because our refrigerator is on its last legs. We get another one tomorrow, but in the mean time I’ve got to waste tons of energy feeling all anxious that (a) somehow I’ve bungled every obsessive measurement I’ve taken (what if the new fridge is too big?) (b) something will go terribly wrong with the delivery (what if they break my house?) or (c) somehow I’ll poison my family between now and then serving food from the old fridge (strawberry jam: the silent killer?). Yes, I even worry that I’ll end up preferring the old fridge–with its inefficient space, loud ice maker, and broken, duct-taped handle–to the shiny new one.

Sigh. As you can see, it’s very fun to make large purchases with me.

Okay. Enough wallowing. I’m working myself up yet again. Time to post recipes and write out my grocery list!

Want easy, one-click access to all of my recipes for the week? I finally started an author’s Pinterest profile. Follow me here!

* * * * *

vegetarian CSA recipe #1 (radishes): Fattoush from Jerusalem: A Cookbook

CSA recipe #2 (lettuce): BBQ Chicken Cobb Salad

CSA recipe #3 (scallions): Vietnamese Chicken Salad with Rice Noodles

delicious carbs: pizza (this crust) with pesto, covered in kalamata olives, chevre, sliced red onion, and diced cooked chicken

The Big Easy: scrambled eggs, toast, and sausage from our freezer

 

 

Leave a Reply

