March Meal Plan #2: Pi and Patrick

97a5f802-f1bd-459f-acf7-5062c4caa244

(Image Source

As I wrote in last week’s meal plan, for the next 40 days I’m making an effort to minimize my grocery purchases. My goal is to use up what I already have in my fridge, freezer, and pantry.

Don’t get me wrong; I like to have a healthy amount of cooking staples and spices on hand. I’ve got nothing against a full jar of quinoa commanding space in my cupboard. But the random buckwheat I’ve yet to open? The cans of artichokes I seem to hoard for no reason? I want to use them before they expire!

Of course, I also want to celebrate and make food special at every opportunity. Happily, this week affords two opportunities to do so: Pi Day (March 14) and St. Patrick’s Day! So yes, while my Lenten resolutions include an effort to minimize grocery purchases I will be splurging on some corned beef and cabbage this Friday. Who knows? If I have time, I may even make some Irish soda bread.

* * * * *

Fridge, freezer, and pantry items I’m using up with this week’s plan: leftover cooked chicken, parsley, frozen apple pie filling, broccoli, jar Alfredo sauce, frozen turkey burgers, quinoa, frozen chicken, cream of chicken soup, random freezer veggies, miso paste, Ramen noodles, dried and canned kidney beans, cornmeal, canned artichokes, spinach, random fruit

* * * * *

Pi Day celebration: chili and cornbread with apple pie for dessert

Pantry Challenge #1: chicken Alfredo pasta with a spinach and artichoke salad (sauce from a jar–gloriously easy!)

Pantry Challenge #2: fried rice made with with chopped turkey burger

Pantry Challenge #3: broccoli quinoa casserole with fruit salad

St. Patrick’s Day celebration: Slow Cooker Corned Beef and Cabbage

2 thoughts on “March Meal Plan #2: Pi and Patrick

  1. How have I been missing your blog for years??!? I’m overdosing on Kate tonight, and I must say, it’s one of the best comfort binges ever. 🙂 So fun to hear your voice and see what you’re up to – you are wonderful! Thank you for the very timely pi day reminder – my children will thank you, too.

    • What a lovely dose of Tara for me! Your comments seriously made my morning. What a treat after a VERY long and rainy walk to the bus stop (we had to add 10 minutes each way to stop and observe worms…) Friend, I’ll be thinking of you and your family today as I bake pie!

Leave a Reply

