New Year’s Tool: the Paper Planner

passion-planner

My favorite brand of planner is available here.

Happy New Year!

Are you hoping to make the most of 2017? Do you have any goals you’re trying to reach or resolutions you’re trying to keep? If so, I highly recommend getting a good old-fashioned paper planner.

Oh, Kate, you may be chuckling. Paper planners in any incarnation are so… quaint. Welcome to the 21st century. We have apps for everything now.

Yes, that’s true. But I’m still a devotee of a handwritten planner for several reasons. First and foremost, my iPhone is the devil’s candy. I get on there to check plans for the week and twenty minutes later I’m still staring at it—playing Sudoku or randomly scrolling Facebook. Don’t get me wrong! I love the convenience of a smart phone… but I’m tired of the time suck and looking for ways to curtail it.

On a more positive note, writing things out by hand sparks different cognitive processes than plugging into a device. It inspires and calms me in a way that typing or texting does not. I also find it easier to spot patterns and trends when I can physically flip back through my schedules. And as a big bonus for creative types, the paper planner gives me more flexibility. For example, I can doodle in the margins or make a collage of inspiring images in the free space. There are even gorgeous stickers now tailor-made for planners.

But perhaps most important, I need a paper planner to help me see the bigger picture. You see, I’m very detail-oriented. In many ways, this is a good thing. But I have been known to reduce life to little more than a to-do list. To combat the downsides of this tendency, my Passion Planner combines awesome reflective journaling and goal-mapping strategies alongside practical day-to-day scheduling. It encourages me to remember the “why” of life, not just the “how” or “what” of my day.

That’s a winning combo of services I haven’t yet been able to access on my phone.  And even if I could, I’m not sure I’d want to… I enjoy my paper planner too much to make a full switch!

One thought on “New Year’s Tool: the Paper Planner

  1. Heather and Kendra both use the passion planner – I hadn’t heard of it till I saw theirs last November – they are wonderful! I’ve been doing a bullet journal since September, and I love it – it is so therapeutic to write it all out. And not use a screen.

Leave a Reply

