NaNoWriMo Tip #5: Stay Off Social Media

face-roo

(Source Image)

In a reverse of my usual trend, I have some advice on what NOT to do for NaNoWriMo.

Yeah, this is what self-sabotage looks like: I have a scant 512 words left to write before I am, officially, a NaNoWriMo winner. Little Bro is watching a bonus episode of Bob the Builder. “Sweet,” I’m thinking to myself. “I can get this done before Big Sis even gets off the school bus.”

But wait! First I should go on Facebook. And then I should click on an article in my newsfeed guaranteed to send me into an ideological spin. Oh, but that didn’t make me anxious enough. I know! I’ll go on the comments section so that I can flood my brain in despair over the torrent of incivility represented there. And then, instead of writing, I can stare off into the middle distance and wonder if the Internet has completely and eternally killed our ability to engage in thoughtful, constructive discourse. Instead of feeling happy and victorious over a personal accomplishment, I can stew in an overwhelming sense of gloom and futility. Clearly, that’s a much better choice. Yes, I’m definitely pursuing a wise course of action now!

Sigh. If I could force myself to follow any advice, it would be this: I’d kick my addiction to social media, especially when I’m trying to write. I don’t know why this is so hard for me. It’s not like social media yields these amazing, soul-stirring rewards to my life. And yet… I keep coming back to it, even when I know that’s a terrible idea.

How do you resist the siren call of a status update or a newsfeed scroll? I’m definitely hoping to implement your practical suggestions!

2 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo Tip #5: Stay Off Social Media

  1. “and wonder if the Internet has completely and eternally killed our ability to engage in thoughtful, constructive discourse” same, wow. One thing to do is honestly just to remove/unfollow the trolls in your social media life- not anyone you merely disagree with, but anyone who consistently post things that cause you to steer off course. The guy who keeps posting his “controversial opinions” with his white supremacist friends in the comments, the girl who keeps posting fake news articles, stuff like that. Par it down to just the people who generally post things that are interesting, necessary, or enriching.

  2. Facebook is a time vortex. I run away from that. But I blog and use twitter to network and meet readers and writers who might want to read my book when it’s finished. To me, it’s part of “the business end.” of my writing.

Leave a Reply

