A Very NaNo Thanksgiving: Pumpkin Pie

img_4647

Last year’s pumpkin pie!

Thanksgiving is coming right up, my fellow NaNo writers! Is there a way to celebrate without losing total control over your word count? I’d like to think so! My biggest recommendation would be to plan ahead so that you can lock in an optimal location and a simple food contribution. Also, make sure to bring home enough leftovers that you don’t have to cook the next day!

Of course, this entire post is predicated on the fact that I’m an extrovert deeply embedded in family life. I also happen to live within easy driving distance of many loved ones, so take everything I’m saying with a whole shaker full of salt!

Location: I’m grateful that my mom is our annual host. I don’t have to clean my house! She only lives 20 minutes away! She does the bulk of the cooking and coordinates all potluck items! For me, going elsewhere reduces stress. Could it do the same for you?

Simple food contributions: There have been times in my life where I’ve totally mooched off my hosts, but I’m in my ’30s now with an established home of my own. Showing up empty-handed and hungry isn’t really an option for me anymore. But I do have small children, and my family does know that I’m doing NaNoWriMo. So my only contribution this year will be pie.

  • I like to bake my pumpkin pie from semi-scratch. In my opinion, a homemade crust is infinitely more important than roasting my own sugar pumpkins for filling. So I’m putting my energy into this crust recipe and saving some time with canned pumpkin and this filling recipe. That said, Costco makes a great (and huge!) pumpkin pie. So you could also skip baking altogether and just pick up dessert.
  • Looking for something even easier? Offer to bring one of the following:
    • wine, beer, or other celebratory beverage
    • rolls (buy them at the store and bring them in a fancy bread basket!)
    • candied sweet potatoes (seriously, this recipe is so easy)
    • a veggie platter (buy a bunch of pickled or roasted items in jars! Or buy carrots, celery, and cauliflower… then arrange it around some Ranch dressing in a bowl.)

 

 

Leave a Reply

