Buckle Up for NaNoWriMo!

nanowrimo_2016_webbanner_participant

So… I’ve decided to do NaNoWriMo again. And yes, the impulse has me wondering if I’m totally crazy.

Not familiar with NaNoWriMo? Here’s a description from the sponsoring nonprofit’s webpage: “National Novel Writing Month (NaNoWriMo) is a fun, seat-of-your-pants approach to creative writing. On November 1, participants begin working towards the goal of writing a 50,000-word novel by 11:59 PM on November 30. Valuing enthusiasm, determination, and a deadline, NaNoWriMo is for anyone who has ever thought about writing a novel.”

50,000 words in November breaks down to 1,667 words a day. That’s assuming you’re able to write on weekends and holidays (Thanksgiving and Veteran’s Day) without any interference from your family. I’ve got a toddler and a kindergartner constantly underfoot. What could possibly go wrong?

Oy, vey.

I haven’t attempted NaNoWriMo since spawning offspring. In years past, my success was thwarted by (a) my teaching obligations and (b) a very strong inner critic who insisted that I rewrite and obsess and pick and agonize and go in circles over and over and over again. I could never just crunch on a chill pill and get out of my own way.

Yet every time that I attempted NaNo, I just blithely assumed that I could change my ways. “This year will be different!” I’d enthuse, without making any efforts to even figure out what I needed to overcome, let alone how I could go about doing so. Shocking but true: this wasn’t the smartest method for setting out to achieve a goal.

This year is going to be different. No, really. In the next few days I’ll be pondering my inevitable obstacles and doing some if-then planning on how to address them. I’m reading relevant blog posts. I’m pondering what I can let slide. And I’m even trying to do some advance meal planning and prepping!

Whatever tools I create, I’ll post. Hopefully that will help me stay on track… and maybe provide inspiration for my fellow Wrimos. With that in mind: any other blog readers out there who also happen to be NaNo participants? Any tips and tricks you’d care to share? 

 

 

One thought on “Buckle Up for NaNoWriMo!

  1. I am attempting NaNo with four kids under the age of 7, and one is special needs. It is only 1667 words a day. Granted, every writer wants those words to be the embodiment of excellent writing, but even if they are utterly craptastic, they will at least be down on paper for you to fix later. You can do it!

Leave a Reply

