Cleaning Calendar 3.0

The monthly calendar created by Clean Mama is both pretty and practical.

The monthly calendar created by Clean Mama is both pretty and practical.

Looking at my “home care” Pinterest board always makes me feel so virtuous. All those glorious ideas for more efficient cleaning! All those schedules and lists, illustrated with beautifully composed graphics! Just looking at the board makes me feel accomplished.

Too bad my dishes still aren’t done!

Ruth Soukup at Living Well, Spending Less articulated what it (sadly) took me awhile to admit: you have to find a system that works for your home and work style. She offers multiple cute printables as well as a master task list.

To Soukup’s suggestions, I would add some nerdy English teacher advice for anyone consulting a print-out. You have to find a printable layout that speaks to your brain! The lists I kept seeing were so pretty, but they just didn’t work for me. Then I discovered Clean Mama’s free monthly calendars. Heaven!

Now, her calendars are fabulous and got me off to a good start. I love the layout and really enjoy the daily tasks. But now I’m feeling ready to create my own version. It’s not as cute, but it takes into account specific needs for our home. (In addition to cleaning, I’m also trying to (a) keep our budget up-to-date and (b) keep our house plants alive.)

Click here to download my calendar as a Word document. I’d be interested to hear how you modify it!  

Leave a Reply

