2015: The Intentional Year (I hope)

homemaker imageIn The Happiness Project, Gretchen Rubin confesses, “I had everything I could possibly want–yet I was failing to appreciate it. Bogged down in petty complaints and passing crises, weary of struggling with my own nature, I too often failed to comprehend the splendor of what I had. I didn’t want to keep taking these days for granted.”

I can’t even begin to tell you how much I identify with Rubin’s words. It’s therefore no surprise that she has inspired me to embark on my own version of a happiness project–that is, identifying what brings me joy and then pursuing joy through concrete action.

Though perhaps “joy” is a misnomer. The word that actually keeps coming to mind is “intention.” I want to do things on purpose, as opposed to just alternating between my reactions of frantic energy and slothful inertia.

Since my husband and children are my top priority, I’m naturally going to begin with an intentional focus on… home-making. Here’s why:

  • Neither Smartner nor I can relax unless the (tiny) house is a certain level of clean and clutter-free.
  • Similarly, I can’t enjoy time with the kids if I’m staring at evidence of my looming to-do list (a mountain of unfolded laundry, etc.)…
  • … and I hate feeling like I’m always ignoring them to clean a house that never actually gets clean!
  • We want to be able to comfortably host spontaneous gatherings, and a home is more welcoming when it’s tidy.
  • We are also hoping to move sometime in 2015. Call me crazy, but potential buyers may be more enthused if I finally wash  that ancient spaghetti sauce from the dining room wall.

I’m sure you’re seeing the connection here. I’m (perhaps optimistically) thinking that She Who Vacuums The Living Room can also tidy up the family’s overall emotional atmosphere. We will see.

Clutter-busting, cleaning, and a bit of home decor: I like this as a starting point! Details to follow soon. In the mean time: any tips or tricks for how you manage your house-keeping?

2 thoughts on “2015: The Intentional Year (I hope)

  1. Pingback: Refocus: The Daily Examen |

Leave a Reply

