February 2015 Meal Plan #1: Yotam Ottolenghi Love

photo from NY Times online

photo from NY Times online

Move over, Mark Bittman. I have a new culinary boyfriend, and his name is Yotam Ottolenghi. Not a shocker that I love this dude’s recipes: if I had to restrict myself to one regional cuisine, it would probably be Mediterranean. Plus, tasty vegetarian recipes that don’t rely on buckets of cheese? Win!

FYI, I planned my week around (a) trying to use up the fresh herbs and (b) Smartner’s dinner requests. (Smartner = smart + partner, my new blog name for the hubby. Yeah, I only wish I could claim credit for coming up with that!)

***NOTE: Post updated to reflect what we actually had time to cook and eat. 

Vegetarian: Chermoula eggplant with bulgur and yogurt (Jerusalem: A Cookbook, pg. 59)

Friday Pizza Night: Baked Potato Pizza (this crust, topped with Amy’s Black Bean Chili, mashed potatoes, broccoli, bacon bits, diced green onions, and cheddar cheese)

Old Favorite: turkey and zucchini burgers with green onion and cumin; sliced mangoes; green salad  (Jerusalem: A Cookbook, pg. 200)

Jerusalem love: Chicken sofrito (pg. 190); basmati and wild rice with chickpeas, currants, and herbs (pg. 106)

Pantry Challenge: chicken noodle soup (I boiled down my chicken carcass to make stock, then added all the leftovers from the chicken sofrito–meat, potatoes, gravy, etc. Dumped in some chopped celery and homemade noodles. That was it. And it was heaven.)

Leave a Reply

