Late to the Party

happiness project

Hey, Internet. I realize it’s been… oh, about a year. Sorry. I’ve been busy figuring out my life. Short recap: I’ve put a temporary halt to teaching so that I can focus on our two small children. Lots of co-op preschool and poopy diapers around here!

Moving on.

The hiatus from grading means I have more time for pleasure reading. And not just reading… but thinking about what I read. Such a luxury!

I am grateful that a dear friend of mine recently recommended both The Happiness Project (Gretchen Rubin) and The Jesuit Guide to (Almost) Everything: A Spirituality for Real Life (James Martin, SJ). Both books have made me consider how I actually spend my time versus how I want to spend my time. And right now I have the energy and focus to make some changes. Hurray!

Now, I realize I’m pretty late to the party here… you all were probably among the original readers who put both titles on the New York Times bestseller list. But if not? I highly recommend them. Bonus: reading them at the same time, I made all kinds of connections between the two. I bet you will, too.

And speaking of being late to the party, I’ve been inspired by both books to make some resolutions for 2015.  My inner Type-A Task Mistress is appalled that I’m just now getting around to this. Kate 2.0 (I like to think of her as Patient, Evolved Me) is rather pleased that I’m actually following my own personal timeline… and giving myself time to reflect before committing to a course of action.

I’ve got a resolution focus for February and a brand-new meal plan I’ll be posting ASAP. In the mean time, blogosphere, I’ve missed you! What’s new in your world? Anyone else have a New Year’s resolution to share?

Leave a Reply

