Weekly Meal Plan #15: Sucking Earthworms

Earthworm Jim faces, courtesy of look1982 on deviantart.com

Sucking earthworms: it’s how my mom used to describe a car running on empty… super-empty. And as my teenage years did not involve much in the way of generous gas purchases, I heard that phrase a lot.

Well, my grocery budget is sucking earthworms this week, folks. And I really want to get through Thanksgiving weekend without having to go shopping. We have what I’d like to call ourselves a situation.

If you’re looking for amazingly balanced meals or tons of original recipes, this week is not for you. But if you, too, are on a budget I’m hoping you find some inspiration in my post.

Next week I won’t be playing Mother Hubbard. I promise. In fact, perhaps I’ll follow this meal plan from “Life as Mom.”

In the mean time: what meals do you all make when you’re at the end of your budget? I’d love to expand my repertoire!

* * * * *

My Thanksgiving Contribution: I make the pie. That is my job. So I will be making pie on Wednesday night and bringing it over to my mom’s for Thanksgiving! What will we have for dinner when I’m making pie? Likely BLTAs (the “A” is for avocado, a necessary addition now that we’ve discovered it).

The Random: veggie burgers (I’ll be picking up the patties at Trader Joe’s)

Vegetarian: Pear, Shallot, and Delicata Squash Soup

Pantry Challenge: Spicy Quinoa Black Bean Casserole (I will serve in whole-what tortillas, with sour cream)

The Big Easy: tuna noodle casserole with green beans and applesauce

Crockpot/Freezer: emptying the contents of my freezer, I found more fish and some veggies… plus homemade chimichurri sauce! So we’ll definitely be turning that into something edible this week.

Crockpot/Freezer #2: the Crockpot Chicken Taco Chili I’ve yet to make.

One thought on “Weekly Meal Plan #15: Sucking Earthworms

  1. Sounds like a good meal plan, even on limited resources. It’s amazing what meals you can come up with using up pantry and freezer items. We raise pastured beef and laying hens, so there’s almost always eggs and beef to eat. Sometimes I just have to get creative with the two ingredients when all others are low. The kids have learned not to complain too much. Hey, at least we’re eating.

Leave a Reply

