Weekly Meal Plan #14: Being Good Sucks

At my last doctor’s appointment, I heard the words every pregnant lady dreads and loathes: “You really need to start watching your weight gain.” And then the midwife began listing off all the foods I should limit eating… which happen to be all the foods I desperately want to consume right now.

In mass quantities.

Oh, white flour! Pasta, sugar, bread, and rice–how I love thee! How can I hope to sever our special bond? Especially when you help me stretch the grocery budget?

Well, perhaps if I manage to plan a little differently for the rest of my pregnancy, I won’t hear all those other words we knocked-up women just love. To whit: “you’re so huge,” “there’s no way you’re making it to your due date” and “I bet you’re going to deliver a gigantic baby.”

Thanks, people. Why not just go one step further? Say something like, “Hey, Super-Size. I think you’re having an abnormal killer baby tomorrow–and he’s going to irreparably slash up your lady bits with his evil raptor talons! Good luck with that!”

Okay, so maybe I’m a little sensitive. Pregnant lady. Hormones. Yummy comfort foods in jeopardy. I’m entitled.

* * * * *

Hippie Breakfast: ful medames (I will find whole-wheat pitas for the scooping)

The Random: Having fish this week… which means two vegetarian meals to make up for the expense! This winter vegetable torte looks delicious. Very cheesy. But hey, no white bread or pasta! Good job, me.

Vegetarian: Butternut Squash and Black Bean Enchiladas

Pantry Challenge:

The Healthful: something involving the cheapest not-full-of-mercury fish I can find. There will be a salad on the side and, so I don’t feel like I’m being punished, cauliflower tots.

The Big Easy: Crockpot Chicken Taco Chili

Crockpot/Freezer: Lazy Day Stew (already made in the freezer). I am probably going to make Dutch Oven bread with this. I just can’t help myself.

Grain-Based:  

Leave a Reply

