Weekly Meal Plan #8: On the Run

Sweet Pea, our budding pastry chef

Sweet Pea, our budding pastry chef

Busy week coming up. My husband starts his evening classes. Sweet Pea and I start mommy-daughter swim lessons. And my presence is cordially required at Open House this Tuesday for a little teacher-parent time… yes, while I’m supposed to be at swim lessons. Because why make life easier when it could just feel painfully, painfully difficult? (I anticipate a full-out whine about this later in the week.)

Last week’s meal plan categories worked out quite well. We’re going to give them another spin.

On a positive note: our farmer’s market feels like fall! My husband and I have hit upon an essential question for the season: how many delicious baked goods can we make from pumpkin? From apple? Taste buds cheering at the thought!

* * * * *

Note: There will be salads with almost everything. We still have a lot of lettuce from our CSA, though I have high hopes of eating it all before it spoils!

Pumpkin/Apple Treat: Pumpkin Coffee Cake with a Brown Sugar Glaze (Doctored box cake mix? Totally my speed this week. And though we bought sugar pie pumpkins at the store, something tells me we won’t be making our own puree until next weekend…)

The Random: Just not doing it this week. Somehow, we’ll just have to survive on leftovers and the kindness of others (i.e., my mother, who’ll be swimming with Sweet Pea while my husband’s at his night class and I’m at Open House)

Vegetarian: veggie tacos from Clean Eating magazine (I’ve made them before; these are good and also filling)

Pantry Challenge: Crockpot Chicken Enchilada Soup (trying to use up meat in my freezer, in an effort to make room for fully prepared freezer meals)

The Big Easy:Tater Tot Casserole made with homemade “cream of whatever” soup mix (I’ll be shredding in broccoli and perhaps cauliflower)

Crockpot/Freezer: Lazy Day Stew (double win–pulling it out of the freezer and, after it thaws, sticking it in the crockpot)

Pizza/Pasta: Healthy Chicken Alfredo Pizza (our toppings may be less planned out and look more like a leftovers dump… but whatever…)

Leave a Reply

