Austen for Babies

Babylit XmasPerhaps I should change the name of this blog to “Nerdy Fantastica.” Let’s see. In the past few posts, I’ve treated you to my obsessions with Richard III and Anne of Green Gables.

Which means, of course, that it’s time to move on to Jane Austen.

As I’m sure you know, Pride and Prejudice is celebrating its 200th birthday. Hurray! I wish I could tell you that Colin Firth came over to my house so we could snuggle, snog, and mark the milestone together.

Alas, it is not so!

Perhaps Babylit is the next best thing. If you’re not familiar, this brand bills itself as “a fashionable way to introduce your toddler to the world of classic literature.” Well. I hardly care about being fashionable (as evidenced by the less-than-impressive contents of my closet). But I care quite a lot about exposing my daughter to the fabulous Ms. Austen.

That’s right, folks. Thanks to this delightful board book, Sweet Pea could say “Mr. Darcy” at eighteen months old. Hot damn! I call that proper parenting.

There’s actually a whole series of these books: multiple titles from classic literature reimagined as exuberantly illustrated counting primers. This Christmas presented quite a dilemma. I was debating whether or not to get the Babylit Romeo and Juliet for Sweet Pea. But, much as I love Shakespeare, I decided on the story whose original plot does NOT involve a double suicide.

Call me crazy, but it seemed more child-appropriate somehow.

Leave a Reply

