Work in Progress

Why the long silence between posts?

I realize it comes at an inopportune time for a new website, but rest assured that I’m normally much more vocal (and punctual) when it comes to blogging. I have, however, been dealing with Momentous Life Stuff (yes, that’s the official term for it). On June 30th, I became a first-time mom!

For the past two weeks, I’ve been getting the hang of (a) nursing (b) sleeping when the baby sleeps and (c) keeping up on her many loads of laundry. (How can a human so tiny generate so much of a mess? Inquiring minds want to know!)

Now that I’ve got a bit of a routine down (knock on wood), I find I don’t have much to say. I always swore I’d avoid being one of THOSE PARENTS who had nothing to talk about beyond the color, texture, and frequency of her daughter’s diaper contents.

And yet… caring for an infant has turned me into a shut-in. I’m not up on my current events, I haven’t read anything interesting, and my creativity seems to be draining alongside the milk from my simply enormous breasts. So unless you want to hear about my daughter’s poop, you’re out of luck!

Guess I’ll let some pictures say 1,000 words for me.

8 thoughts on “Work in Progress

  1. Congratulations Kate on your beautiful baby girl. What a treasure.
    Enjoy the moments with her at this stage of her life, they can’t be recaptured. And if you ever come across the answer to how somebody so small can generate so much laundry, consider writing a work of nonfiction about it. I bet it would be a bestseller. Hugs, Debby Lee

  2. Very late from me – but congratulations! She’s beautiful, all pink and tiny and sweet-looking. Very happy for you!

    Alas, I regret to inform you the laundry situation does not improve. Almost eight years on, and it’s only gotten worse. Make the Dear Husband do the carrying of the baskets – very quickly the beautiful one will weigh much more, so get him lifting that laundry now.

    Do they have PEPS (Program for Early Parent Support) down where you live? Saved my sanity when I felt isolated at home with the first. And magazines. Couldn’t even read a book, but junk catalogs and magazines worked while I nursed. Or hunched at my kitchen table in stained sweats trying to understand a sentence and have some cold coffee. I’m sure you’re doing much better than that! Hot coffee at least, I hope!

Leave a Reply

